Host Committee

The United States Chairmanship of the Arctic Council has significant implications for Alaskans.

The state will be the focus of international attention for the next two years as visiting delegations from around the world participate actively in meetings taking place here. The opportunity for Alaskans to shape international discourse about the Arctic has never been greater.

Formal Arctic Council meetings in Alaska—with participation limited to members of the national, permanent participant or observer delegations—will still provide ample opportunity for Alaska to arrange side meetings, to liaise with the U.S. State Department to develop value-added opportunities that bridge local and visiting interests, and to share the reality, richness and responsibility of being an Arctic state.

Working closely with the Governor’s office, the Institute of the North will act as the Secretariat for the Host Committee during the two-year U.S. Chairmanship of the Arctic Council (2015-2017).

Host Committee activities include:

  • Public Workshops – Prior to a Senior Arctic Official meeting, a half day public workshop will be convened to update Alaskans on U.S. activities during the Chairmanship.
  • Welcome Reception – The evening before an Arctic Council meeting, the Host Committee will invite visiting delegations to join local leaders in a networking and social event.
  • Alaska Arctic Policy Tours – Two day visits to Alaska’s Arctic, arranged around Arctic Council meetings, will provide an opportunity for visiting delegations to learn about Alaska’s Arctic.
  • Outreach Materials – Developed from every Arctic event or activity taking place in Alaska during the U.S. Chairmanship of the Arctic Council, with key takeaways for Alaskans.
  • Public Relations – Development of an archive of targeted messages and materials for delivery to the U.S. and across the circumpolar North.

Current Host Committee Members

Honorary Co-Chair Governor Bill Walker, State of Alaska


  • Ron Duncan, President & CEO, GCI

Presiding Officer

  • Brian Rogers, Chancellor Emeritus, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Public Members

  • Commissioner Larry Hartig, Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Commissioner Marc Luiken, Department of Transportation & Public Facilities
  • Commissioner Chris Hladick, Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
  • Sen. Lesil McGuire, Alaska State Legislature; Co-Chair, Alaska Arctic Policy Commission
  • Rep. Bob Herron, Alaska State Legislature, Co-Chair, Alaska Arctic Policy Commission
  • Sen. Donny Olson, Alaska State Legislature – or Senate President’s designee
  • Rep. Benjamin Nageak, Alaska State Legislature – or House Speaker’s designee
  • Mayor Ethan Berkowitz, Municipality of Anchorage
  • Mayor Karl Kassel, Fairbanks North Star Borough
  • Mayor Clement Richards, Sr., Northwest Arctic Borough
  • Mayor Shirley Marquardt, City of Unalaska
  • Mayor Richard Beneville, City of Nome

Private Members

  • Admiral Tom Barrett, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.
  • Chancellor Tom Case, University of Alaska Anchorage
  • Polly Carr, Alaska Center for the Environment
  • Larry Cotter, President & CEO, APICDA
  • Anthony Edwardsen, President & CEO, UIC
  • Hajo Eicken, International Arctic Research Center
  • Craig Fleener, Office of the Governor
  • Stan Foo, Donlin Gold
  • Willie Goodwin, Alaska Marine Mammal Coalition
  • Andrew Guy, Calista Corporation
  • Eleanor Huffines, Pew Charitable Trust
  • Scott Jepsen, Vice President, External Affairs, ConocoPhillips Alaska
  • Reggie Joule
  • Mike Levine, Oceana
  • Thomas Mack, Aleut Corporation
  • Molly McCammon, Alaska Ocean Observing System
  • Harry McDonald, Saltchuk
  • Denise Michels, Kawerak, Inc.
  • Crawford Patkotak, ASRC
  • Drue Pearce, Crowell & Moring
  • Karen Perdue, former U.S. Head of Delegation to SDWG
  • Evon Peter, Vice Chancellor, Rural, Community, & Native Education, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Cory Quarles, Alaska Production Manager, ExxonMobil
  • Marilyn Romano, Regional Vice President, Alaska Airlines
  • Gail Schubert, Bering Straits Native Corporation
  • Aaron Schutt, Doyon Regional Corporation
  • Mike Sfraga, University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • Whit Sheard, Circumpolar Conservation Union
  • Veronica Slajer, North Star Group
  • Cam Toohey, Alaska Operations, Shell
  • Mead Treadwell, former Lieutenant Governor
  • Wayne Westlake, NANA Regional Corporation
  • Margaret Williams, Arctic Director, World Wildlife Fund

Honorary Members

  • Senator Lisa Murkowski
  • Senator Dan Sullivan
  • Congressman Don Young
  • Edward and Elsie Itta
  • Willie and Abbe Hensley

Associational Members

  • Lori Davey, Arctic Economic Council
  • Nancy Hemsath, Alaska Humanities Forum
  • Deantha Crockett, Alaska Mining Association
  • Julie Decker, Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
  • Lisa Falskow, Alaska World Affairs Council
  • Julie Kitka, Alaska Federation of Natives
  • Kara Moriarty, Alaska Oil and Gas Association
  • Rachael Petro, Alaska Chamber
  • Marleanna Hall, Resource Development Council
  • Kathie Wasserman, Alaska Municipal League
  • Tyson Fick, Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute
  • Sarah Leonard, Alaska Travel Industry Association